Bacon Apple Cheddar Oatmeal Muffin Cups

image_3

Good Evening! I thought I’d introduce some savoury baking. It’s not something I do often – actually, that’s a mild understatement. This is the first savoury bake-thing I’ve made, ever. I was trawling healthy reciples at sparkpeople and I came across this particular concept. Its creator can be found here for thank-yous. 🙂

I adapted quite heavily from the original ingredients – by which I mean I used much more oatmeal, which meant I probably used more bacon and cheese than the original creator. However – these turned out damn good. They didn’t actually make it out of the house – my dad’s band (The Hounds!) were wonderful and liked them so much at taste test they successfully cleared us out. Here’s what I did:

Ingredients: 

100g Wholewheat Flour

150g Oats

1 Tablespoon Baking Powder

1/2 Teaspoon Salt

6 Large Eggs

75g Applesauce

125g Cheddar Cheese (shredded)

125g Chopped Bacon (I was lazy and used pre-bought lardons)

Small Chunk Butter, for frying

20g Parsley

1 Tsp Pepper

60g Butter

1 Tsp Cinnamon

Directions: 

1. Preheat your oven – about 170 celsius for the fan types, 190 for the fan free types. Put a small saucepan on a medium heat, and melt your butter in it before frying up the chopped bacon or lardons. Do these to your taste! When complete, drain off the butter and set aside.

image

2. Combine flour, oats, baking powder, salt, cinnamon & pepper in a large mixing bowl. Do the thing where you get out the cinnamon, smell it and go “mmmm”. (Please tell me that’s not just me). Ensure even distribution.

3. Beat the eggs and applesauce together in a seperate bowl, then pour into the oat/flour/seasoning mix & stir together to ensure everything is even and pretty. Stir in the bacon, cheese and parsley. Your mix is ready!

4. Line a twelve-indent muffin or cupcake tray with muffin liners. This muffin mix is super gluey – when baked and cooled, it sticks to anything it touches. Therefore, I’m gonna ask y’all to take this precautionary step. Melt the extra butter – in a bowl in the microwave makes it quick and easy. Find yourself a pastry brush (I borrowed my mam’s) and dip it in the butter. Use butter-laden brush to paint the inside of each muffin liner to prevent the worst of thesticking. NOW you can ladle in your batter, ensuring even distribution. Bake for 17 minutes – they’re ready when the tops are lightly brown and the kitchen smells of bacon heaven.

image_1

As a final note – only ever eat these warm. Microwave ’em if they last long enough to cool down. They go very well with hickory barbecue sauce. Enjoy!

image_2

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Bacon Apple Cheddar Oatmeal Muffin Cups

  1. snati001 says:

    This looks like the ultimate muffin! On my baking to-do list!

  2. Gregg says:

    I have dipped my toe into this sea of tastebud delight and am a complete savory convert. Wonderful! Breakfast on the go without the sugary nastiness!

Leave a Reply

